First let’s make sure we’re on the same page – no pun intended! Before you delete your Facebook page, let’s take a quick look at the difference between a Facebook page and a profile, and if deletion is the best choice for you.
Deleting a Facebook page vs. a Facebook profile
A Facebook page is different from your Facebook profile, also known as your Facebook account.
Your Facebook profile page is your personal account. This is where you see your news feed, containing pictures of friends and family, and create posts about your life and feelings. Your profile is all about you, and connecting with friends and family.
Facebook pages are created for marketing purposes: Businesses, groups, and individuals can promote themselves and interact with customers or fans.
There are two types of Facebook pages you may want to delete.
The first is a Facebook business page, and the second is for communities and public figures.
These community and public figure pages can be used for teams and clubs, or, when used for celebrities, they are known as “Facebook fan pages.”
Whichever type of page you are looking at, you can use these instructions to delete your page on Facebook.
Now that you’re clear on the difference between a page and a profile Before you get too far in the process, consider if deleting your page is the right thing to do.
Is deleting your Facebook page the right choice?
Some people want to delete a page if it’s out of date or inaccurate. You could also delete a Facebook fan page for an old event, project, or initiative that is no longer relevant. For example, in this tutorial, I’ll be showing how to delete a Facebook page created for a theatre production from two years ago. Permanent deletion may not be right for your Facebook page because:
- You have similar or duplicate pages
- You don’t have time to manage and regularly post on your page
If either of these is the case for you, read the section below of merging and unpublishing pages before you go through the deletion process.
How to delete a Facebook page via desktop
Once you’re you’ve made the decision and you’re ready to delete your Facebook page, follow these steps. If you’re deleting your page on mobile, jump ahead to the next section.
1. Sign in to Facebook
Begin by opening Facebook and signing into your account.
2. Go to your Facebook pages
In the menu that appears on the left side of the screen, choose “Pages,” located under “Explore.”
2. Select the Facebook page you want to delete
On the next screen that appears, you will see each one of your Facebook pages. (The ones pictured here have not been used for quite some time, making them perfect for this tutorial.)
Click on the page name you want to delete. Here, we are deleting the page for a play which hasn’t been running for over two years.
3. Click on settings
You will now see your Facebook page. In the upper-right corner, choose “Settings.”
4. Click “Edit” in the row that says “Remove Page”
You’ll now find yourself with a list of various Facebook settings.
Scroll to the bottom of the page. In the very last row, you’ll find the option “Delete your Page.” Click the word “Edit” in that row.
5. Delete your Facebook page
A notification will appear, letting you know that you have 14 days to restore the page if you change your mind.
To go ahead and delete your page, click “Delete <Your Page Name>.” You’ll find the words in blue; in my example shown here, I’m clicking on the words “Delete Loose Knit at Public House Theatre.”
6. Click “Delete Page”
After you click that “delete” button, another pop-up will appear, asking if you are sure you want to delete the page.
To make it official, go ahead click that big blue “Delete Page” button.
In the screenshot just pictured, you’ll also see the option to tick a box and “Unpublish this page.” We’ll discuss this option more in the upcoming section “Before you hit delete.”
Once you have officially deleted your page, a pop-up window will confirm the page has been deleted. Click OK.